top of page

The Light of Darkness Boxset 2 (books 4-6) by Catrin Russell

THE LIGHT OF DARKNESS BOXSET 2 is the second and final book in the completed THE LIGHT OF DARKNESS SAGA by Catrin Russell. (There are also two prequels – and I’ve read them all!)

The Light of Darkness Series is one of my all-time favourite epic fantasy reads ever. It has it all: action and adventure, court intrigue, battles, magic, romance (on page everything), amazing characters and great worldbuilding that shows you how much research went into the author's book, from medieval ways of daily life, weapons, to name but the most obvious. And the magic system is well-thought out, logical and isn't the Mary Sue type where you can do everything anytime, no matter the challenges or circumstances. It has its limits and the author doesn't deviate from it, either, which you sometimes find in other works.

I am in love not only with Anaya and Samael, but all the characters, who practically leap off the page and make it all happen before your inner eye. You feel with them, ugly-cry, laugh, throw a fit of rage on behalf of your most beloved ones. These books take you through the entire range of emotion and it only gets better with each book.

Russell's development as an author started on a high level that made me instantly fall in love with Book 1, but there was no stagnation and the prose is just to die for in the best sense. I've read and re-read sentences and passages for the sheer beauty of the language. I fanned myself at some hot scenes between my favourite characters Keadin and Lillith and I wanted to hug young Lee and tell him everything is alright.

These last three books of the series take you on a wild adventure that leaves you with a major book hangover of the best kind. (I might have even acted out a few battle scenes, scaring the cat out of her wits.

A last word of warning: These books have dark elements, on-page sex and you should definitely read the trigger warnings. The storyline is complex, varied and the way the author introduces new characters or interweaves new events, strand by strand, bringing things together and combining it into a complex whole is masterful but definitely not for you if you don't have the bandwidth for complex thought processes. No judgement, just helping you making an informed choice of whether this is for you or not. The series is an ongoing one, so should be read in sequence and I would also advice to read the prequels.

If you can say yes to all of the above and are not afraid to think along and feel an entire range of strong emotions, then this is possibly the best story you ever picked up!

Books by Catrin Russell



Deathfall Wraith (Prequel 1)

Follow Catrin Russell on Social Media

Website & Newsletter

Follow Subtle Touch Creations on Social Media

Catrin Russell is a Fantasy and Romance author from northern Sweden. Her books are all written in English and are mainly part of the Epic and High Fantasy Genre. However, she does use influences from Dark Fantasy, and a touch of Fantasy Romance.

Growing up outside a small town, basically in the middle of nowhere, Catrin eventually moved to Stockholm, where she studied computer game development and design. Meeting her soon-to-become husband online, she lived outside of London for the best parts of a year, before finally settling down in Piteå, back in Sweden. Since then, three children and two dogs have joined the family.

With a background in design and holding a degree as a registered nurse, she writes novels in medieval settings, with plenty of action and romance. She often brings moral struggles, or highlights issues in society, into her writing. Another subject that is often highlighted is mental health.

Catrin also creates concept art, bringing her characters to life on the screen, and her own cover designs, much of which can be seen on her social media pages. She has also now made it a business and takes commissions for covers, character art and more, AI free! Her Subtle Touch Creations can be found on her website.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page